Town Government

Town Hall Hours:
Town hall is currently open for regular business Tuesdays from 8:00 to 4:00 and Thursdays 3:30 to 7:30. The office is open for CEO business on Fridays from 8:30 to 11:50.
2021 Town Office Holiday Schedule
The Long Island Town Hall will be CLOSED on the following dates: November 2nd  (Tuesday) – Election Day – State Referendum and November 25th (Thursday) – Thanksgiving Day
Contact Us
Phone: 207-766-5820
Fax: 207-766-5400
e-mail: townhall@townoflongisland.us
Shipping address: 105 Wharf Street Long Island, ME 04050
Mailing Address: PO Box 263 Long Island, ME 04050
Selectmen and Assessors
Joseph Donovan, Chair 2018-2021
John Burke 2019-2022
Marie Harmon, 2019-2022
Town Administrator
Town Staff
NOTICE: Remittance for all Town transactions needs to be in the form of cash, check or money order.  Credit/Debit cards are not accepted.
Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters: Amy Tierney  clerk@longislandmaine.org
Tax Collector: Barbara Johnson taxcollector@longislandmaine.org
Treasurer: Lisa Kimball  treasurer@townoflongisland.us
Deputy Treasurer and Office Assistant: Vacant
Code Enforcement Officer: James Nagle Note: CEO is available by appointment. Contact the town clerk at clerk@longislandmaine.org to make an appointment. You may contact the CEO by email at if you don’t need to meet in person: ceo@townoflongisland.us
Constable: vacant
Animal Control Officer: Steven Auffant aco@townoflongisland.us 203-675-3984
Harbor Master: vacant harbormaster@townoflongisland.us
Fire Chief: Will Tierney  fire.chief@townoflongisland.us
Public Works: Selectmen  selectmen@longislandmaine.org
Community Center Coordinator: vacant ccscheduler@townoflongisland.us
Islands Coalition Rep: Mark Greene
Casco Bay Lines Representative: Bill Overlock  billovr@myfairpoint.net Casco Bay Lines Board
Emergency Management:  Will Tierney fire.chief@townoflongisland.us
Facilities and Wharves Superintendent: Sam Whitener  facilities@townoflongisland.us
General Assistance and Health Officer:
Assessor’s Agent: Robert Konczal  robert_konczal@yahoo.com
Library Director:  Paula Johnson licldirector@long-island.lib.me.us

Selectmen Sub-Positions

Maps and Assessing: Mark Greene

Parklands/Beaches: Leah Doughty

Public Safety: Selectmen  selectmen@longislandmaine.org

Rescue Boat: Fire Department

Road Commissioner: Selectmen  selectmen@longislandmaine.org

Solid Waste: Selectmen   selectmen@townoflongisland.us

Board Chairs & Committee (see department sections for more information)

Appeals Board: Ed McAleny  appealsboard@townoflongisland.us

Finance Committee: Ed Rea

Library Board of Trustees: Patty Temple 

Planning Board: Steve Hart – Chair  planningboard@townoflongisland.us

Recreation Committee: Erica Papkee  rec.director@townoflongisland.us

School Committee:  Pierre Avignon – Chair

Broadband Exploratory Committee (BBEC): Mark Greene
toli.bbec@gmail.com

A small Maine island town