Town Government

Town Hall Hours: Due to the pandemic town hall is closed. You may schedule an appointment to meet with a member of the town hall staff by contacting the town clerk at . You may also contact staff by email at their addresses listed below.
2020 Town Office Holiday Schedule

The Long Island Town Hall will be CLOSED on the following dates:

March 3rd (Tuesday) Presidential Primary & Special State Referendum
June 9th (Tuesday) – State Primary Election
November 3rd  (Tuesday) – Election Day
November 26th (Thursday) – Thanksgiving Day
December 24th (Thursday) – Christmas Eve
December 31st (Thursday) – New Years Eve

Contact Us
Phone: 207-766-5820
Fax: 207-766-5400
Shipping address: 105 Wharf Street Long Island, ME 04050
Mailing Address: PO Box 263 Long Island, ME 04050
Selectmen and Assessors
Joseph Donovan, Chair 2018-2021
John Burke 2019-2022
Marie Harmon, 2019-2022
Town Administrator
Town Staff
NOTICE: Remittance for all Town transactions needs to be in the form of cash, check or money order.  Credit/Debit cards are not accepted.
Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters: Amy Tierney
Tax Collector: Barbara Johnson
Treasurer: Lisa Kimball
Deputy Treasurer and Office Assistant: Vacant
Code Enforcement Officer: James Nagle Note: CEO is available by appointment only. Contact the town clerk at You may contact the CEO by email at:
Constable: vacant
Animal Control Officer: Steven Auffant 203-675-3984
Harbor Master: John Wallace
Fire Chief: Will Tierney
Public Works: Selectmen
Community Center Coordinator: Rennie Donovan
Islands Coalition Rep: Mark Greene
Casco Bay Lines Representative: Bill Overlock Casco Bay Lines Board
Emergency Management:  Will Tierney
Facilities and Wharves Superintendent: Sam Whitener
General Assistance and Health Officer:
Assessor’s Agent: Robert Konczal
Library Director:  Paula Johnson

Selectmen Sub-Positions

Maps and Assessing: Mark Greene

Parklands/Beaches: Leah Doughty

Public Safety: Selectmen

Rescue Boat: Fire Department

Road Commissioner: Selectmen

Solid Waste: Selectmen

Board Chairs & Committee (see department sections for more information)

Appeals Board: Ed McAleny

Finance Committee: Al Hemond

Library Board of Trustees: Paula Johnson

Planning Board: Steve Hart – Chair

Recreation Committee: Katie Norton

School Committee: Annie Donovan – Chair

Community Center Revitalization Project Committee: Lynn LaMontagne

Broadband Exploratory Committee (BBEC): Mark Greene

A small Maine island town